National Mathematics Honor Society - Founded 1931

In KME News

Welcome California Theta

The installation of the California Theta Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon was held in the Commons on William Jessup University campus on Monday, October 17, 2022, at three o'clock in the afternoon.

KME National President Don Tosh was the installing officer. Faculty member Michelle Clark, already a member of KME, was the main driving force in establishing this chapter of KME, and will serve as the chapter’s Faculty Sponsor. She served as the conductor during the ceremony. Faculty member Bradley Wagner was initiated during the ceremony and will serve as the Corresponding Secretary. During the ceremony, new members were initiated and officers were installed. Don Tosh declared the organization to be the California Theta Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon, and presented the chapter’s charter and crest to the Corresponding Secretary.

The student charter members of California Theta are: Michael Beishline, Hannah-Jeanne Bethards, Stephen Chau, Mikayla Erickson, Lizzie Salvato, Samuel Smith, and Rachel Weaver. Each initiate was invited to sign the California Theta Chapter Roll, and was presented with a membership certificate and a KME pin.

The officers of California Theta installed during the ceremony are: Michelle Clark (Faculty Sponsor), Bradley Wagner (Corresponding Secretary), Lizzie Salvato (President), Stephen Chau (Vice-President), Mikayla Erickson (Secretary), and Samuel Smith (Treasurer). Each officer was charged with the responsibilities of his/her new office, and each chose to accept those responsibilities. Dr. John Jackson, William Jessup University President, concluded the ceremony with some closing remarks. A time of congratulations and fellowship with refreshments was enjoyed by all following the installation ceremony.

2022 Southeastern Convention
The Kappa Mu Epsilon Southeastern Regional Convention was held on April 22-23, 2022, hosted by Alabama Beta at the University of North Alabama in Florence. Ashley Johnson is Alabama Beta's Corresponding Secretary and coordinated the event. The event was very well organized and there were nine talks, a plenary speaker, and a "Careers in Mathematics" panel discussion by alumni. Head over to the conventions page for a list of speakers.
Missouri THETA 50th Anniversery
Missouri Theta held the 50th anniversary of their installation into Kappa Mu Epsilon. The ceremony was timed to coincide with Evangel University's homecoming which was held October 7-9, 2021. Missouri Theta was installed on January 12, 1971. Dr. Glenn Bernet was the charter Corresponding Secretary, and he was able to attend the anniversary. Missouri Theta was awarded the McKee/Tosh Outstanding Chapter Award at the national convention that was held virtually on April 16-17, 2021. Dr. Joseph Bohanon, a KME member who presented two papers at past KME conventions, was selected as the outstanding alumnus of Evangel’s science department, and gave a talk on cryptography. Joe works for the Department of Defense. We were fortunate to have most of the full time math teachers who taught at Evangel over the last 50 years. From left to right they are: Glenn Bernet, Bill Cook, Don Tosh, Dianne Twigger, and Duane Huechteman. It was a very memorable day!
Welcome Georgia THETA!
The installation of the Georgia Theta Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon was held at 3:00 p.m. ET on Friday, October 22, 2021, on the campus of the College of Coastal Georgia in Brunswick, GA. Dr. Aaron Yeager, Assistant Professor of Mathematics at CCGA, served as master of ceremonies and conductor. Dr. David Dempsey, KME National Treasurer, served as the installing officer via Zoom connection.
Welcome Arkansas Gamma!
The Arkansas Gamma Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon was installed at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. The ceremony was held via Zoom at 4 p.m. on April 27, 2021. The meeting was hosted by Professor Ronald Smith, who was installed as the Corresponding Secretary of the chapter. KME national president, Dr. Don Tosh, served as the installing officer.