National Mathematics Honor Society - Founded 1931

George Mach Distinguished Service Award

The George Mach Distinguished Service Award is KME's most important award, and is given biennially to recognize an individual who has served the society with distinction. The award was established in honor of Dr. George Mach, who served as National Vice-President from 1966 to 1969, National President from 1969 to 1973, National Past President from 1973 to 1977, and National Secretary from 1977 to 1987. Nominations are solicited from the chapters. The National Council determines the recipient. The recipient is honored with a plaque, and his or her chapter receives $500.
Follow this link to nominate a colleague for the Mach Award.

McKee-Tosh Award

The Rhonda McKee and Don Tosh Outstanding Chapter Award is granted biennially to recognize an active chapter which exemplifies the purposes of KME. The award is named in honor of Rhonda McKee of MO Beta and Don Tosh of MO Theta, both of whom provided exemplary leadership for their local chapters for many years. Chapters are eligible to receive this award at most once every ten years. More than one Outstanding Chapter Award may be granted in a given biennium. The National Council will decide the amount of the award, which is currently $500. A plaque will also be presented to each chapter receiving the award.
Follow this link to nominate a chapter for the McKee-Tosh Award.

Mach Award Recipients
Year Awardee Chapter
1987Laura Z. Greene
Wilbur Waggoner
Kansas Delta
Michigan Beta
1989Fred LottIowa Alpha
1991Sister Helen Sullivan, OSBKansas Gamma
1993James LightnerMaryland Beta
1995James SmithOhio Zeta
1997Harold ThomasKansas Alpha
1999No award given
2001Sister Jo Ann Fellin, OSB
Ken Wilke
Kansas Gamma
Kansas Delta
2003Mary ElickMissouri Iota
2005Arnie HamelMichigan Beta
2007A. Allan RivelandKansas Delta
2009No award given
2011Patrick CostelloKentucky Alpha
Don ToshMissouri Theta
2013Robert BaileyNew York Eta
2015Ron WassersteinKansas Delta
2017Joan BellOklahoma Alpha
2019Rhonda McKeeMissouri Beta
2021Mark HamnerTexas Gamma
McKee-Tosh Award Recipients
Year Chapter
2021Missouri Beta
Missouri Theta